How It Works

In just 3 steps we show you how easy and quickly you can lock and hide any folder on your computer.

Step 1:
Click on the "Add" button and browse for a folder you want to hide. Repeat this step to add more folders.


Step 2:

Select the checkboxes for the folders you wish to hide and click the "Hide" button.



Before


After clicking the "Hide" button, the folders selected have completely disappeared and are now protected from view with 256-bit Blowish Encryption.


After


  Step 3 :
Click on "Options" button and enter a password to prevent anyone from unlocking folders. Check all three checkboxes for "Require a password when..." so that any changes relating to Lock and Hide Folder prompts the user to enter the password you have set.
 


Lock and Hide Folder Options Window
For full protection of your hidden folders, we suggest selecting all of the checkboxes available in the options menu (as shown below). Also, for added privacy, you may delete Lock and Hide Folder shortcut icon from the Windows start menu. That way no one will know you're using Lock and Hide Folder and you will still be able to launch the program from Stealth Mode by pressing: CTRL+SHIFT+ALT+M

Note: In general, you should turn on password protection so that you are the only person who can make the folders reappear using Lock and Hide Folder. Also, you will be able to quickly hide and show your folders by using the shortcut keys (read below).

Using Lock and Hide Folder Shortcut Keys
Now you can quickly make your folders show up again by pressing CTRL+SHIFT+ALT+S. If you setup a password in the Options menu, you will be prompted to enter your password each time you use the Show All Folders Hotkey. Thus, if the user does not know the password, the folder will remain locked and hidden from view. You can then quickly lock and hide them again by pressing CTRL+SHIFT+ALT+H.


Frequently Asked Questions

What happens if Lock and Hide Folder is removed?
Lock and Hide Folder does not need to be running in order for your folders to remain hidden from view. If a user removes (uninstalls) Lock and Hide Folder from your computer, any folders you had hidden will remain hidden, locked, and encrypted. The only way to retrieve those folders again is by re-installing Lock and Hide Folder. As long as you know the password you setup in the Options menu, you will be able to unlock your hidden folders. Thus, we strongly suggest you write down your password and keep it in a safe place.

Can you see hidden folders on another computer from a network or if Windows is re-installed?
If you hide folders on an external hard drive, removable disk, or even network drive, you will only be able to unlock the those folders using Lock and Hide Folder, regardless of which computer you're using. Also, reinstalling Windows will not expose your hidden folders. Operating systems have no effect on the hidden folders. The only way folders can reappear is by running Lock and Hide Folder and entering your password to unlock folders.

Can you see hidden folders if booted in Windows Safe Mode?
Booting to Windows Safe Mode does not expose any of your hidden folders. Your folders will remain hidden and encrypted even if Lock and Hide Folder is no longer runing on your computer. No other computer on a network (whether Linux based, Appled OS X , or Windows) will be able to unlock a folder from encryption without using Lock and Hide Folder itself and knowning the password to unlock your folders.

 

Download Lock and Hide Folder

 

 

Bookmark this Site | Privacy Policy